“And this is how I spent my last night in Paris.”

Posted: July 10, 2009 in Comics

So as many you may or may not know, I like comics…. a lot. And I recently started reading a new series called, Red Robin (no not the restaurant). Before I tell you about Red Robin I need to give you one quick piece of background information. Bruce Wayne is dead. You heard me right, he is not longer living (in the comic world at least). Red Robin follows his son Tim Wayne and his search to find Bruce. Tim doesn’t believe that Bruce is dead and will not give up his world wide search to find him. Even after finding out someone very dangerous has put a bounty on his head. The artwork so far in this series is incredible. The creative team has done a great job so far of giving the books a lot of tone. The pages are very dark but Guy Major did a great job of using colors that really stand out against the often blackened backgrounds.

Going back to the basic plot, I started to think. What things have been hard for you let go of or you thought you could never live without? What kind of stuff have you lost that you couldn’t bring your self to admit they were gone forever? For me one of the hardest things to come to terms with was the death of one of my closest friends, Kim. She was such an amazing girl who seemed to have it all together and then in a moment she was gone. As cheesy and dramatic as I just made that sound, that’s exactly how it felt. The second I heard Casey tell me I thought, “I’m never going to see her again”,”I can’t ever talk to her again.” I couldn’t and wouldn’t allow myself to imagine a world without her. It’s been almost 2 years now and it’s still hard but I’m lucky enough to have an incredible group of friends who have stuck together through the whole thing and are even closer because of it.

I’d love to hear your thought on the questions I posed. If you feel comfortable just leave a comment. Otherwise feel free to email me at, adam.r.steen@gmail.com, and I promise none of them will be sent to anyone else. Also go check out Red Robin, they’re fun and very interesting comics and they’re a lot more fun to read than normal books. Anywho, you guys have a great week and stay safe.

Peace Out!

Leave a Reply

