Something not comics related!!!

Posted: August 23, 2009 in Music

So, it’s been a couple weeks since I updated this. And I realize that most of my posts lately have been about comic books. So to make up for it I am going to do a review of Anchor & Braille’s debut CD, Felt. For those of you don’t know what Anchor & Braille is, it’s a band…. well…. kind of. It’s Stephen Christian’s (lead singer of Anberlin) side project which he did with help from Aaron Marsh (lead singer of Copeland). Basically to me this is Heaven in music form. If you’ve known me for any length of time you probably know that Anberlin and Copeland are two of my favorite bands of all time. So you can imagine how excited I was when I found out about this project. And it did not fail to deliver.

This CD is excellent. There is really no other way of putting it. Stephen Christian’s voice is, in my opinion, one of rock’s best voices. His vocal range is incredible and his ability to make you feel every emotion he wants to feel in a song is almost unmatched (Aaron Marsh being one of the only exceptions). There is definitely a heavy Copeland influence on this album and that just makes me oh so happy. My friend, Ben, actually described the CD as Stephen Christian singing Copeland.

There are so many different sounds on this album it’s almost hard to describe what the album as a whole is like. In most cases this wouldn’t be a good thing because the CD would sound disjointed and messy but for some reason that’s not the case with Felt. The first song feels almost like a modern James Bond theme to me with big horn parts and a slightly dark overtone. Then the next song, Like Steps in a Dance, has a very dancey feel to it (I know “dancey” isn’t a word, just go with it, you know what I mean). Just a few songs later you get to Calm, Calm, Calm Yourself and you feel like you’re listening to a lullaby with only piano and vocals you almost want to just drift off to sleep while Stephen Christian serenades you. The CD closes with the song Sheet Music/Sheet Music and Stephen Christian doesn’t hold anything back with his vocals on this song. You can hear the yearning in his voice for his “baby” to stay with him. The orchestra only add to the emotion of this song and you can never go wrong with Aaron Marsh on background vocals.

Now whether you got anything out of this review or not, you NEED to check out this CD. If there’s one thing that bugs me to no end it’s when people don’t give a musician a chance. Just take a quick listen, if you don’t like it fine, if you do that’s awesome! We can share in our love of Anchor & Braille.

I hope you guys are having wonderful lives.

Peace Out.

Leave a Reply

