Love the music not the musician.

Posted: September 11, 2009 in Music

I was listening to some Kanye West today and it got me thinking about all the stuff that’s been going around him. He gets so much crap from people simply because he’s so open about his opinions. Sure he can be a complete jerk about it but who cares? It’s not like he came to your house and punched you in the face then just stood over you laughing. I don’t understand why people make celebrities’ lives so personal.

I know there are other examples but Kanye West is probably the easiest to use and I’m too tired right now to look up other ones.

Anyways, I think it’s especially stupid when people boycott a celebrities work because of something stupid they did. I know a bunch of people who will not listen to Kanye West just because he smashed a paparazzi’s camera. Now I’m not justifying what he did. But seriously? Just because he got pissed once and broke a guys camera doesn’t mean he didn’t work hard to make his music. If you don’t like his music, don’t like it and just leave him alone. If you like his music then like his music and ignore his personal choices if you don’t agree with them. When did music become more about the musician and not about the music itself?

This doesn’t only apply to not liking something either. I find it just as ridiculous when someone listens to music that is absolutely horrible just because they feel they should be “loyal” to the artist. JUST LISTEN TO WHAT YOU ENJOY!

And one last thing. Since when is music segregated into people groups? One thing that bugs me more than anything is when someone tries to call me a poser for liking Kanye West. No. I’m not trying to be anything that i’m not. I’m just enjoying good music. If you have a problem with that then go away cause I’m not going to deal with it. I like what I like and I’m not going to be ashamed of that.

Sorry. That was kind of a rant. It probably made no sense but I really did try to get my point across.

Leave a Reply

