Anticipation

Posted: October 28, 2009 in Comics, Movies, T.V.

Lately I have been reading up on entertainment news and getting myself pumped up for some AMAZING things that are coming out. So, I figured why not tell you guys what I’m pumped for and maybe a little bit of why. This is probably going to end up being a huge coming out of my nerdocity (not a word) and you’re all going to look at me and say, “Really? You’re that much of a nerd? Wow…” But you know what? I don’t care. I’m just gonna let it all out.

Tron Legacy
First off, Tron 2, also more properly known as Tron Legacy. Holy crap I am excited. I watched the first Tron movie for the first time not too long ago and loved it (although most of my other friends fell asleep while watching). This is going to be about the main characters son going back into Tron to investigate his dad’s (Kevin Flynn) disappearance. I’ve watched the clips and trailer from this movie probably a bajillion times over. It looks GORGEOUS so far. I can not wait.

Green Lantern
When I first heard about this movie I got really excited. Green Lantern is one of my favorite super heroes and I think there is TONS of potential for this movie. Then I heard Justin Timberlake was in consideration for the role of Hal Jordan. I literally said out loud, “No that is not happening”, when I read that news. Then when I found out Ryan Reynolds was cast as Hal, I was still a little hesitant cause I didn’t know much about him. I’ve recently watched an array of Reynolds films and love him. I think he’s going to do an excellent job and very much looks the part. THEN while looking at the imdb page for this movie I noticed Jackie Earle Haley has been cast as Sinestro. Most of you probably know him as Rorschach, he also is going to be Freddie Kreuger in the new Nightmare on Elm St. remake. When I saw this I got so incredibly pumped for this film. They haven’t even started filming and I can’t wait for the 2011 release.

Avatar
I’m a little less excited about this one. It comes out fairly soon I believe. It looks awesome, looks like it’s going to be gorgeous and there has been a lot of hype around it. We’ll see how it goes. It has an awesome story and is implementing some great new technology. Also from what I hear James Cameron has utilized 3D in a very new and inventive way that I’m really looking forward to seeing. Fingers crossed it’s awesome.

Deadpool
Looking again to Ryan Reynolds. There is word they are going to make an X-Men Origins: Deadpool movie. I thought Reynolds did an excellent job portraying him in the Wolverine movie (before they so stupidly killed him off) and I look forward to seeing a full movie dedicated to this character, who actually has a lot of story to tell.

Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World
I only recently started reading this comic book series and can not get enough of it. It’s fun it’s quirky and completely throws you for a loop. I’ve been looking through the casting for this movie and it looks perfect. Michael Cera is starring as Scott Pilgrim and Mary Elizabeth Winstead will be playing Ramona. Michael Cera I have no doubt will be incredible in this role, it’s a little bit different than most of his characters but I believe he has the ability to take the next step and make this character his own. Mary Elizabeth Winstead? I honestly haven’t seen a single thing she has been in but she just looks right. Hopefully she’ll be able to capture the personality Ramona has in the books. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Iron Man 2
I don’t know how I almost forgot this. Although I’m a little hesitant of the casting of Mickey Rourke as Whiplash. I loved loved loved the first Iron Man movie. It was exciting, it was funny, it was dramatic and not to mention the Iron Man armor is absolutely beautiful. As long as they stuck to the format of the first movie, this one is going to be one of the best superhero movies to come out in 2010.

Kick-Ass
Not a lot of people know about this movie but I do and I’m excited. It’s based on a comic book written by Mark Millar which deals with the idea of just a regular person going out and trying to be a superhero and having to deal with the ramifications of dressing up and trying to fight crime in the world as it is. From what I’ve heard about the clips shown at Comic-Con, this movie is showing a lot of promise and that makes me happy.

Toy Story 3
Who isn’t excited for this? Seriously…

Sherlock Holmes
Love Robert Downey Jr. and all the trailers for this look phenomenal. I don’t know a lot about Sherlock Holmes but this looks awesome.


Those are pretty much all the main ones or at least the ones I know a little something about. But here’s a quick list of other movies I’ve heard rumors about that sounds exciting.

  • Ghostbusters 3
  • Dune (remake)
  • Fahrenheit 451
  • Justice League: Mortal (very much a rumor)
  • The Avengers
  • Thor
  • Boondock Saints 2

If you have any movies you’re excited about or think I’ve gone mad feel free to leave a comment.

Peace Out!!

Comments
  1. Kristen says:

    You are so nerdy! Haha, no I’m wicked excited for many if not all of those movies you listed. There’s just too much to comment on, so i will just show my appreciation through this comment.

Leave a Reply

