The Oscars (March 7th)

Posted: March 8, 2010 in Movies

Today, instead of watching a movie and writing a review I’m going to write a quick review of the Oscars.

I’m just going to quick talk about a couple of disappointments and a couple picks I was really happy about.

First up, Sandra Bullock won Best Actress for The Blind Side. Now, I haven’t seen The Blind Side but have heard great things about it. And I think Sandra Bullock is a great actress BUT compared to the other actresses in the category she was not the best. My choice would have been Gabourey Sidibe from Precious. The girl skipped school to try out for the part and had it in 2 days. The performance she gave for her age and her experience should be recognized more than it has been.

Next, I have to say I’m quite pleased with Jeff Bridges winning Best Actor. Again I haven’t seen Crazy Heart but I have seen other Jeff Bridges movies and honestly, he is getting close to deserving a Lifetime Achievement award. He is an incredible actor and I congratulate him on his win.

The winner for Best Screenplay was Mark Boal for The Hurt Locker, which I have also heard great things about. I think the story behind how he got the idea for the story is awesome and from what I hear he did do an excellent job. BUT Quentin Tarantino is the KING of dialogue, he has written some incredible movies and has actually been nominated many times for this award. For some reason though, he has never won it. I find this utterly ridiculous.

Finally, I’m VERY pleased to see that Avatar didn’t win Best Picture. And now before you freak out at me. I do have some points to make. I enjoyed this movie overall. It was a gorgeous flick and I tip my hat to James Cameron for taking movie making to a whole new level. BUT… honestly? That story was just painful. If you don’t know what Fern Gully is about go look it up on Wikipedia. It’s nearly identical except it has fairies instead of aliens. The one thing I wanted to see at the Oscars this year was Avatar being put in it’s place, which is being recognized as a great TECHNICAL movie not a great OVERALL movie.

I’m sorry if you hate me for my opinions but that’s what they are, opinions. If you don’t agree with them then that’s too bad, but if you do, awesome! If you do decide to comment on this (which most of you probably won’t), please, think through what you’re saying before you say it. Thank you.

Peace out.

Comments
  1. Christian Rodriguez says:

    I agree 100% on you about Avatar… No a whole lot of people get that though :/

  2. John Detloff says:

    Woooo! Down with Avatar!

Leave a Reply

